top of page

The Book of Runes - Read a chapter

Chapter 6 - The Golden Flier: Ruby

The last thing I remembered was the shapeshifters at Cooper’s house. I woke up. I was being carried. I slowly adjusted to the light. Then, whatever was carrying me dropped me.

“Hey,” I yelled up at the creature, but it just turned and drifted away.

“I know how it feels to be alone, left behind, mistreated,” said a deep loud voice from across the room. “I especially felt them the day you killed my lord of the mountain region, Silvertooth,” Pillars of fire erupted along the sides of the cavern.

I was finally able to see my surroundings. I was in a domed metal cage, connected to the end of the cavern. Designs were etched into the walls and the ceiling was to elevated to see. The floor though looked mechanical, as though able to open. The air was freezing and my metal bars reflected the cold even more.

Three buckets lay in the back of the cage. One empty, one full with water, and one containing a meat I didn’t recognize.

“Your rations for the week,” I heard.

The voice came from a dragon. At the other end of the cavern an extremely large dragon stood. He even made Silvertooth look puny. He stood tall and fierce, yet elegant. His voice was firm but held wisdom. “Do you know why you are here,” the dragon asked, stepping (or stomping) closer.

“Because of your father,” he said.

My father, the words made me shiver. I’d never known him and my mom had scarcely talked about him. All she would do was sigh and shove me away. I hadn’t told anyone except Jake. Only him, and her relatives knew anything about him, so I thought.

“Who are you?” I yelled.

“Stubborn. Just like your father. I am a southeastern golden flame twister, or more formally, Singe.

"Emperor Singe of the Regions of Flame. The Conqueror of Skies, Spark of Terror, Slayer of Foes, but you, Ruby Glaze, will call me Singe,” he replied.

My blood ran cold. He knew my name. I recalled the flame twister from when I’d heard it from Jake’s book. The species had been thought to be extinct after vanishing from their terrain on the Final Night of Fear, one of the greatest dragon, human battles in all of their history.

“You know my father,” I asked, holding on to my confidence.

“But of course, we worked well together, in all his times of stay,” Singe answered.

“You see, that is why you are here. Your father betrayed me. On our last project that marked the end of the Dragon Tamer’s rein, he left a flaw in the plans. A mistake perhaps, but the next day, he was gone. I had no proof of this flaw, but I knew he had lied. He had a great head, your father. That’s why I need you. You’re old enough to understand, but young enough to be trained to my favor,” Singe said.

“And what exactly makes you think I’ll help you?” I questioned him.

“Oh, I know you will. Especially if it’s the only thing that will ever let you see your father again,” Singe said with an evil confidence.

I stood up and stared into his fierce green eyes. I thought to myself. After a long moment of silence, I replied.

“What do you want me to do,” I asked.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page